Positano at Dusk

Positano at Dusk, originally uploaded by Jhy Turley.

I have just returned from a 2 week trip to Italy. This trip was purely dedicated to wedding and honey moon. It was the best day of my life and has resulted in literally thousands of photos. None of mine however.

The first leg of the trip was to Positano. A small town on the Amalfi Coast, in the Campagna region.

We were in Positano for our wedding and only our wedding. So I only took one photograph. This one. It was the view from our hotel balcony. And when I saw this dusk sky, I couldn’t resist getting the camera out.

Mounted on my gorillapod sitting on the corner of the balcony I took several shots at different shutter speeds but couldn’t get the balance between the sky and the town. So I pulled out my graduated neutral density filter. Bingo.

Even though I’m using a digital SLR and can see a preview, I still take a variety of shots at different exposures. I don’t trust the small screens. Especially as my 40D is getting on a bit.

Once back home I made some fairly minor colour corrections and took out a very unsightly satellite dish in the foreground. I do no or little retouching on my photos, but sometimes you cant help what people bolt to the side of their houses!

I hope you like the image.

There will be lots of images from the second leg of my trip. So keep an eye out for them.

Leave a Reply

