These are a few of my favourite things… Part One

This is the first of two, well overdue blog posts. As quite often happens, life gets busy and things get pushed to one side. Recently its been my photography, life and work have been moving at a million miles an hour.

But, back in June, I had the good fortune of combining a few of my favourite things; food, drink and photography.

The first was spending a couple of days at my brothers restaurant photographing and tasting their new summer menu. It is full of exquisite delights, that make your taste buds sing and fill your belly with joy. I have been trying to organise this for several years now, clashing diaries usually preventing us from doing it.

Just before each seasons new menu starts, Head Chef Adam and his team will spend the day (and quite often the night) putting together each new dish to make sure they know exactly how it all goes together and then John, the Maitre d’ and founder of Bluebells will taste each dish. They will then make any final comments and adjust the dish accordingly.

This time, I was tagging along and taking a few photos along the way.

Timing was critical, I had very little time to photograph each dish before it went cold and spoiled the tasting. So I composed several different settings throughout the restaurant, most with natural light and one using flash. The restaurant was closed giving me lots of tables and windows to choose from. I then poured different glasses of wine so I had them ready to match with the dish. Before each dish was plated, Adam would let me know what plate he would be using, what the dish was and what wine should go with it. I then prepped my shot as best I could. As soon as the dish was ready I fired off a few frames, then the best bit, tasting!

My  aim was to capture a collection of images that were simple, uncluttered and would show not only the beauty of each dish, but also entice the viewer to desire each and every mouthwatering mouthful. I’ll let you decide if I’ve succeeded.

And here they are, photos of the Bluebells Summer Menu 2013

Seared loin and slow braised belly of Blythburgh pork 1
Seared loin and slow braised belly of Blythburgh pork

South coast scallop ceviche 1
South coast scallop ceviche

Squab pigeon
Squab pigeon

Tasting of heritage tomatoes 2
Tasting of heritage tomatoes

Truffle and roasted garlic gnocchi  1
Truffle and roasted garlic gnocchi

White peach panna cotta with Bellini sorbet 1
White peach panna cotta with Bellini sorbet

Alder wood smoked rabbit 2
Alder wood smoked rabbit

Almond sponge and cherry sorbet
Almond sponge and cherry sorbet

Brixham crab with avocado ice cream 2
Brixham crab with avocado ice cream

Butter poached lobster salad
Butter poached lobster salad

Chocolate nitro air 2
Chocolate nitro air

Foie Gras with Cherries
Foie Gras with Cherries

Lasagne of English red mullet 3
Lasagne of English red mullet

Line caught Cornish sea bass 2
Line caught Cornish sea bass

Midshires Rosé veal and slow braised sweetbread 1
Midshires Rosé veal and slow braised sweetbread

Seared fillet of Casterbridge beef with foie gras 1
Seared fillet of Casterbridge beef with foie gras

Roasted rump of Cotswold lamb 3
Roasted rump of Cotswold lamb

Pineapple parfait 1
Pineapple parfait

I hope you’ve enjoyed the photos. If you want to enjoy the food even more, then get yourself down to Bluebells.

Leave a Reply

