Creators Makers Artists

In November last year I started a new photographic project. One I expect will keep me busy for some time. The project is to visit and document craft people, designer makers, their work, spaces and process.

I’m really excited about this project and the people I will meet for a couple of reasons. The first is because many of the crafts and art forms I will encounter are ones I explored years ago at art college. So I’m looking forward to seeing true masters in action. The second reason is because many of the traits that make the people I will be meeting true artisans and skilled designer makers are the same traits a photographer needs to succeed. Patience, dedication, doing it for love not riches, personal creative gratification, the list goes on. So for these two reasons I will be gaining great personal inspiration, meeting a myriad of new and interesting people, all whilst doing what I love.

I will be meeting textile artists, potters, jewellers, furniture makers, leather workers, knitters and upholsterers and more. At the end of it I hope to have a collection of images that show the people, their unique work and what it takes to make their creations. And hopefully these will come together as a book.

In my next two posts I will be sharing the images from the first two people I have met. Rosalie, a jewellery maker that uses recycled coffee grounds, and Michelle, a textile artist that mixes photography and bold colours to create bold and exciting wall prints.

I hope you’ll follow and enjoy my journey.

To see more of my photographic work please visit my website: jhyturley.com

Leave a Reply

