RPS London 1853 24-hour challenge

To celebrate the 160th anniversary of the Royal Photographic Society (RPS) the London region held a 24 hour marathon photo shoot, with various satellite shoots happening all over london.

I Love London

Starting at 4pm on Saturday 19th January 2013, the event kicked off at Café in the Crypt at St Martin-in-the-Fields, Trafalgar Square. Over the next 24 hours we explored The West End, Embankment, Soho, Marble Arch, Oxford Street, The Strand, Piccadilly, Covent Garden, China Town, The City, Spitalfields, Brick Lane, Kings Cross and many places in-between. Finally arriving at The RSA (Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce) at 4pm on Sunday 20th, exactly 160 years after the first RPS meeting. Several challenges we’re in play, 1853, best shot of the hour and shoot the Monopoly board.

Along with my close friend Lee Gadd, we set off for the entire 24 hours, only missing the final hour due to the heavy snow and National Rails unreliability. We endured bitter winds, cold streets, security guards, tired feet, aching backs and the snow. It was worth it. I enjoyed every minute, got some great images and saw London in a new way .

Here are a selection of my images from the 24 hours. A couple of which I am hoping will lead me to success on my upcoming LPRS assessment.

Untitled

Electrick Building

To the Left

Tree watching

Red

Shard in the Night

Brick Lane Brick-A-Brack

Lost red balloon

Light fantastic

Snowy Walk

Comments and feedback are as always welcome. I hope you like my images. You can see more of them here.

More info on the RPS can be found here.

To find out more about the RPS London region click here.

Images by the other participants of the night can be seen here.

Leave a comment